How, How and Welcome to the Mighty Iroquois Nation web site.

The Iroquois Nation is part of the Algonquin Longhouse program.


A NATIVE AMERICAN INDIAN FACTOID: The Iroquois Confederacy, made up of six Nations, was formed in about 1575. The Iroquois Nation includes the Onondaga, the Oneida, the Senecca, the Mohawk, the Cayuga, and the Tuscarora. The Iroquois are from New York State. Near their pallisaded villages which were often surrounded by moats, the Iroquois planted maize, squash, and beans--the Three Sisters. They hunted deer and bear, caught fish, tapped the sugar maples, and gathered a variety of plant foods. They lived in large bark longhouses, each house holding as many as sixty people and headed by a clan mother. The Iroquois have always prided themselves on diplomacy and even today the Iroquois travel the world speaking of peace.

If a child...
  • If a child lives with criticism, he learns to condemn

  • If a child lives with hostility, he learns to fight

  • If a child lives with ridicule, he learns to be shy

  • If a child lives with shame, he learns to feel guilty

  • If a child lives tolerance, he learns to be patient

  • If a child lives with encouragement, he learns to be confident

  • If a child lives with praise, he learns to appreciate

  • If a child lives with fairness, he learns justice

  • If a child lives with security, he learns to have faith

  • If a child lives with approval, he learns to like himself

  • If a child lives with acceptance and friendship, he learns to find love in the world

Upcoming Events

June Tent Out See Events for more details.

  • Sponsor: This space for rent...